Sinful Sunday – Goodbye

Sinful Sunday

I have participated in Sinful Sunday since March 1st 2015, and have enjoyed the challenge of coming up with a new image every week. I love the positivity of this meme and the amazing support to be found amongst the community here. I salute Molly for creating this safe space to explore and celebrate our sexual sides.

However, I am in a place right now where I simply cannot join in anymore. I have nothing positive to say about my body and I need to turn my focus elsewhere. Looking in the mirror is too hard and taking photographs is too much of a stretch for me.

I will continue to look at everyones images each Sunday, and will comment on them.

Maybe I will return, I cannot say right now.

Thank you all for the lovely comments and support you have so generously provided me with over the past 15 months.

I will bid you farewell with a smile, captured in my bedroom mirror.

All my SinfulSundays are here, if you want a trip down memory lane.

IMG_2609

Click to see the other sinners.

I found this poem on Pinterest and decided to frame it…

Never trust a mirror

For a mirror always lies

It makes you think that all your worth

Can be seen from the outside

Never trust a mirror

It only shows you what’s skin deep

You can’t see how your eyelids flutter

When you’re drifting off to sleep

It doesn’t show you what the world sees

When you’re only being you

Or how your eyes just light up

When you’re loving what you do

It doesn’t capture when you’re smiling

Where no one else can see

And your reflection cannot tell you

Everything you mean to me

Never trust a mirror

For it only shows your skin

And if you think that it dictates your worth

It’s time you looked within        ~ e.h.

💋

Copyright, 2016, illicitthoughts.wordpress.com

All rights reserved.

 

46 thoughts on “Sinful Sunday – Goodbye

  1. I am sorry to read you seem to be in a dark place.
    You are a great photographer and sharing your art here was both courageous and appreciated.
    I hope you can feel comfortable in your body soon. You are beautiful, both body and soul.
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Not too kind. Simply truthful.
        I wish I could help you see your beauty, the way I managed to start seeing mine.
        Take care, don’t believe the small voices in your mind that tell you you’re worthless and ugly. They’re remnants from older times when you heard that, or from before you had words to put on your emotions. They’re not your voice, but that of people who needed you to conform to their views.
        You are beautiful and valuable just the way you are. Try to say this every day.
        What started to save me was when someone told me I was ‘a beautiful woman with nice curves and lots of charm.’ I started repeating it to myself every day when I looked in the mirror. At first I didn’t believe it, but I kept saying it. And then, slowly, I started to believe it more and more. It’s still not perfect, but… I’m getting there 🙂
        Good luck.
        Hugs!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry hear that you are feeling this way at the moment. I am glad that Sinful Sunday provided you with a space to explore your photography and I whenever you feel the urge to return please know that you will always be welcomed.

    Mollyxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We are all beautiful but sometimes it can be difficult to see. Wishing you all the very best and I hope that you feel able to come back and join in again at some point in the future.

    Big hugs.

    Velvet x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh no, I am sorry to hear that you’re not going to be posting photos anymore! They’re always so beautiful, and I’m sorry that you don’t see the beauty that we all see. It is real after all, you really are beautiful! I hope you come back soon, we’ll miss you! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m going to miss you taking part in Sinful Sunday, I adore you and your images. But I do understand why you feel the way you do;I have a hate/despise relationship with my mirror, I used to make a point of never getting undressed anywhere near anything reflective because I didn’t want to see. I still have days like that.
    Maybe one day we’ll see you back….I do hope so xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well that has made me sad. I will miss your images and the beauty you portray in them. I wish I could hold up a mirror and make you see the beauty we all see in you but I also understand the need to step back and look after yourself whilst you feel so vulnerable.

    I will miss you lots and hope that one day you will return again.

    Bee xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my gosh. I am so sad! I didn’t have time to look at last week’s posts as I was in Bangladesh. I got back last night so I’m sorry it has taken me this long to comment on this. I echo everything others say, which is that you are beautiful and elegant and classy and you put great humour and style into your photos. I’m sorry you are not in a good place now and I hope that changes for you soon. I will keep everything crossed that we see you back here and if you ever want to guest post photography or write about this over at E40 your voice will be a welcome addition to my guests over there. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

What have you got to say?

