Final Limit

Do you remember what it felt like to love me?

Do you remember how you used to run to me gleefully at the end of each day as I returned home, your eyes alight with life and mischief? How you would throw your arms around my neck and launch yourself onto me like a force of nature, delighted to see me again.

Do you remember Laura? How I would pick you up and spin you around, our lips meeting, feeling each other’s smile beneath the kiss? How you would tell me that your love for me knew no limits?

But you started to walk towards me instead of run. A chaste peck on the lips replaced the missile of affection you used to hurl at me.

The day came when you simply called out from the kitchen rather than greet me at the door.

I was no longer the centre of your universe. I was, instead, a satellite you vaguely noticed on the outer edge of your world.

So, I ran the bath for you, steaming hot and bubbly as you liked it and carried you up stairs that day, your body limp in arms.

I held you down under the water and watched you come around. I watched the shock on your face as you struggled against me, your arms suddenly animated and clawing at my chest.

Ah, now you wanted to touch me! Is this what it took to see such life and passion in your eyes once more? To feel you desperately reaching out for me again?

I watched as the light began to die in your eyes, so similar to watching the love that died too.

Your pale skin turned pink by the hot soapy water. Your dark hair floating around your beautiful face, eyes glazed. Your perfect lips parted in a surprised O.

Laura, I remember everything; the joy, the love, the passion… back when it felt limitless.

Wicked Wednesday... a place to be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked

💋

Copyright, 2016, illicitthoughts.wordpress.com

All rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Final Limit

What have you got to say?

